Author Topic: E2 Guide (Wiremod Expression 2)  (Read 9445 times)

Trainjumper

• Starting Member
    • View Profile
E2 Guide (Wiremod Expression 2)
« on: April 27, 2015, 01:22:56 am »
Hello fellow Spacebuilders!

Since I started playing on the server I have noticed many people showing an interest in E2 but never getting around to learning it.

For those of you that don't know what E2 is, it stands for Expression 2,
It's a special chip in wiremod which you code yourself to do whatever you need it to.

It uses its own language, which has a syntax similar to C++ and Lua, and is relatively easy to pick up, even if you've never coded before.

I spent some time over the last few days putting together this guide for anybody who would be interested in learning it.
It's designed to be viewed in the E2 Editor, so just copy paste the text from the attachment into the GUI. (Although you don't have to)

If you have any questions, I'm on the server a lot of the time, so please drop by and ask if you see me!

-Trainjumper♥

↓Attachment Below↓ [Must be logged in to view attachment]
« Last Edit: January 07, 2017, 11:36:18 am by Trainjumper »
*Picks up phone* "Hello?"

bloxgate

• Supreme Forum Overlord
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Bloxgate's Website
  • IGN: bloxgate
Re: E2 Guide (Wiremod Expression 2)
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2015, 05:18:48 pm »
Very nice, but perhaps you could put this in code tags so that people without an account can read it? It'll come out looking like
Code: [Select]
this. Also you didn't mention anything about @autoupdate which can come in quite handy for some situations, and if you don't mind I'd like to tack a few more advanced features onto here.
Bloxgate's Intermediate E2 Guide
Read Trainjumper's Guide First!

Logical Operators:
Most modern programming languages, including E2, have 3 basic logical operators:
  • Logical AND (&& or &)
  • Logical OR (|| or |)
  • Logical NOT (!)